top of page

Teacher Appreciation Post!

Updated: May 10, 2021

By: Fiona Sweet


Happy Teacher Appreciation Week!


To commemorate this week, I would like to share with you all some responses from the survey I sent out about two weeks ago. They’re all very heartfelt and sweet!


Mr. LaFrance: “He has always been very supportive and determined to push students to do their best.”


“My English teacher Ms. Bell deserves a huge appreciation because during Covid I know everything has been hard she is always willing to help anyone anytime I message her she gets back to me by the end of the day and she even set up zooms for science help at 1. I really appreciate Ms. Bell and I also know her pretty well because my cousin had her.”


“My whole junior year up until quarantine started I had a free 1st period and I didn't want to take a class but I also wanted to be at school in the morning, so, I snuck into Mr. Mahlstedt’s class and just sat in the back corner hoping he wouldn't notice me and that worked for about 5 mins the first day of school. After that I became his pretend TA 1st period and ate all the snacks he had hidden the rest of the year!”


“Señora Fox is always enthusiastic and is constantly looking for new ways for students to learn.”


“When I showed up for in person office hours for calculus Mr. LaFrance shouted my name and said how happy he was that I had come. It really made my day.”


Ms. Bogges-Frietas: “She has been super helpful to me and I'm sure many other students in trying to make distance learning as manageable and realistic as possible. She has created a very positive and comfortable environment in her class that makes you want to participate and not just because you have to. A lot of teachers have failed to be empathetic and understanding during this awful time for us students, making it feel impossible to show up and do the work like we should.”


“Mr. Holland always takes the time out of his busy work day to ensure his students are fully understanding the topic at hand. He's extremely patient, has a great sense of humor and genuinely cares about his students.”


“Ms. Heath is incredible at her job. She is the person I usually go to when I have a question regarding pretty much anything and she ALWAYS has the answer. She is super helpful, kind and really goes the extra mile for her job.”


“Mrs. Payne took her time to understand my situation and always encourages me to work my hardest, she always makes me feel comfortable to talk to her about anything.”

“Señora Fox starts every Spanish class with music and she sings and dances along. This always makes me smile, especially when we are in person and she would serenade us.”


Mr. LaFrance: “He's always there to help if you need help, and is always trying to make the school, and the experience for students better.”


“Aprendi muchas mas sintomas del covid-19 y a convivir con mis companeros atraves de zoom con el maestra de espanol Sr. Erik Olmsted.”


As for me, I would like to give a few teachers not already mentioned a specific shoutout.


Mr. Schloemp; thank you for giving me a passion for poetry and Shakespearean literature. I would not have written my first sonnet if it were not for your class.


Ms. Oberthur; thank you for being my English teacher for two whole years of my high school experience. I feel like you really saw my beginning (freshman year) and my end (senior year).


Mrs. A; thank you for helping me figure out my voice, and for being an amazing teacher for all four years. I will miss the countless memories I have made in choir.


As this week draws to a close, please reach out to your teachers and thank them for everything. Thank them for persevering through Zoom teaching. Thank them for adapting their lesson plans and being forgiving on distance learning.


To our wonderful teachers, thank you, thank you, thank you.

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page